Moving on – June 4th – BY!(e)

It was a tough decision, but had to be taken at some point. I’ve been thinking about moving on from Yahoo! for a while. But the last 4.5 yrs @ Yahoo! have been amazing and has made me continuously put down the thought to move on every time. But, this time the decision is finally made and I believe this is the right time for the decision – for multiple reasons:

  • I am going back to my native, Chennai, for a regular life after 10 long years.
  • I feel I’ve gotten into a comfort zone @ Yahoo!. Need to shake off and challenge myself.
  • And the most important one, a little angel is on his/her way and Chennai is where I feel he/she + my wife would find the much needed warmth and care.

June 4th is when I become yet another user of Yahoo! and no more a prestigious employee. Yahoo! is a great place with wonderful people, loads of things to learn, an opportunity to impact millions outside.. It was a great place for me to start the career and thanks to everyone who made this journey of 4.5 years great.. A special thanks to my manager Pankaj who did more than just manage me – he mentored me I should say.. I would definitely miss this cool environment, hacking, great colleagues..

Nevertheless, the company I am moving onto is equally good. When I told people I am relocating to Chennai, they guessed it right instantly – Amazon. I’m joining Amazon on the second week of June and will be part of the Kindle team. Looking forward to it.

And now, the complete focus is on shifting from Bangalore to Chennai…. Uffff, Too many things to worry about: Gas connection, Tatasky, broadband, surrender phones, looking for a house @ Chennai, selling car and the list goes on.. 3 weeks to go and all these needs to be sorted out (and I’m blogging, hmmm).. With relatives and friends helping me out, i hope it should be doable.. All for the little one expected in Nov!!! Exciting months ahead.. “Cha, how responsbile I’ve become?? :)”..

8 responses to this post.

  1. Venky, It was awesome to work with u. We will miss you!
    Best luck for future & tons of congrats for the little angel🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Venkat on May 16, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      Thanks Saurabh. It was great to have worked with amazing pple like you.. Looking forward to work with you in future..

      Reply

  2. Nice. Congrats. 2 good news. Best Wishes.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Arulanandan on May 15, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    congrats na..🙂

    – Arula

    Reply

  4. Double Congrats na.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

